November 25, 2020

RNU Announces Board of Directors 2021-2023, Yvette Coffey Announced as Incoming President

St. John’s –  The Registered Nurses’ Union Newfoundland & Labrador (RNU) introduced incoming President Yvette Coffey and the 2021-2023 Board of Directors at its convention today.

Coffey, an oncology registered nurse from the Dr. H. Bliss Cancer Centre, will take office as RNU President in January 2021.

“Registered nurses and nurse practitioners know both the challenges and solutions to so much of what is happening in our health care system right now,” says Coffey. “We are on the front lines each day, and our patients look to us to be their voice. I am honoured that our members have entrusted me to be their voice as we work to improve health care for Newfoundlanders and Labradorians.”

“Yvette enters her new role as President of RNU with a wealth of knowledge and expertise,” said Debbie Forward, current RNU President.  “Yvette served as Vice President for the past 7 years and has been working on the front lines of health care for the past 30 years. She understands the issues and will be a passionate and strong voice for RNU and our members.”

Yvette has been a union activist for three decades. She has served as RNU Vice President for the past 7 years, 16 years as Branch 3 President, and 26 years as a shop steward.   She has worked in many areas of nursing, including oncology, cardiac care, outpatients, intensive care, neurosurgery and medicine.

 2021-2023 RNU Board of Directors:

President – Yvette Coffey, RN

Vice President – Mike Fagan, RN

Secretary-Treasurer – Tony Moores, RN

Region 1 – Ashley Jones, RN

Region 2 – Vacant

Region 3 – Stephanie Legge, RN

Region 4 – Christa Philpott, RN

Region 5 – Brenda Dicks, RN

Region 6 – Nancy Healey-Dove, NP

Region 7 – Mark Aylward, NP

Region 8 – Nicole Parsons, RN

Region 9 – Kimberley Parsons, RN; Jessica Dwyer-Milley, RN; Jodi Nolan, RN

The Registered Nurses’ Union represents more than 5,300 registered nurses and nurse practitioners working in acute care, long-term care, community, education and research.